Nutella-Espresso Pull-Apart Rolls

Ahem.

I’m alive.
20141019-201433-72873556.jpg

I like to think that some kinds of food solve all your problems.
I mean, math homework? Make cinnamon rolls.
Sore legs? Green smoothies!
Heartache? Salted chocolate chip cookies to the rescue!

But.
I’ve never known of a food that makes sadness better.
Sometimes you just feel down and NOTHING can make you feel better. Ya feel me?
Except, except…
Nutella.
20141019-201638-72998904.jpg

Nothing screams caffeine like chocolate and obviously, coffee.
So I put them to sleep in a fluffy little dough pillow.

Then this happened.
Ta daaaaah!

These have a soft, espresso laced dough, and I’ve stuffed these babies with Nutella like whoa.

They work really well together. Nutella + Coffee = Thank you Amani you give us life.

Pull apart pieces of the rolls and dunk them in coffee. Mihihihihi, yes.
Except I HATE drinking coffee. I like the idea of drinking coffee and l love how it smells baaaaht nai. Whatever floats your boat, I guess.

20141019-202029-73229577.jpg

Someone come fluff my pillows and make these for me.
I’ll love you forever.

Espresso-Nutella Pull-Apart Rolls

For the dough:
2 tsp fresh yeast, crumbled/ 1.5 tsp active dry
1 egg, lightly beaten
2.5 cups flour (lightly packed)
2 tbsp melted butter
2 tsp espresso powder
3 tbsp granulated white sugar
1/2 lightly warmed milk, full fat (you don’t want it to be too warm as that’ll cause your yeast to die)

For the filling:
1 tsp espresso
1/2 cup Nutella
1/3 cup brown sugar

For the filling:
Combine all ingredients in the filling together. Set aside.

For the dough:
Put the milk and the butter in a medium sized bowl/ in the bowl of your KitchenAid Mixer.
(I’ve done this with both my KitchenAid and my hands. Both work well.)
Sprinkle in the yeast and wait for 5-10 minutes to see if it gets frothy. If it doesn’t (unless using fresh), discard and start again.

Whisk in the egg and the milk.
Slowly, add in the sugar, espresso and the flour in 4 parts.
Now, knead using either your hands or the paddle attachment on your KitchenAid for 7-10 minutes. The dough should be smooth and elastic.
Do not overwork!
If it’s too dry, add a little water.
If it’s too wet, add a touch of dough.

Put it in a greased bowl and cover with cling film. Let it rise for 2 hours or until doubled in size.

AFTER:

After it’s doubled in size, roll out the dough on a greased surface.
Roll it out into a thin, even circle and spread with the Nutella filling.
(Make sure you grease the surface so that the dough doesn’t stick!)
Roll it up so that it looks like a log and slice into little rounds.
Place them in a greased baking bowl and let the rolls rise for 45 minutes or so.

Preheat the oven to 200 C.
Place the buns in and bake for 15 minutes or till light brown and the sugar is bubbling.
Watch carefully, you don’t want them to burn.

I love you guys.
Thanks for sticking around.
Romeo and Juliet appreciate it.
(As do I)

20141019-202304-73384122.jpg

2 thoughts on “Nutella-Espresso Pull-Apart Rolls

  1. You’re so good at this Bobby.
    And Romeo and Juliet 😍

Leave a Reply

