Grilled Peach + Feta pie with Honey-Thyme Walnuts

You guysss

20140730-003704-2224988.jpg

This is the best thing you’re going to put inside your mouth this week.
So, there’s something I need to say.
I’m in tart-love right now. I mean, there’s so much incredible fresh produce in Indian markets at the moment and I just want to grab all of that and turn it into a giant delicious tart.
On the negative side, I CAN’T turn all of that gorgeous bounty into a tart because of the lack of time. College ughh.

Don’t get me wrong, I like it, but this whole being in full time education thing is getting in my way of doing brilliant things. Like inventing a time machine. (I joke, I joke, I’m not 7, I’m 17)

BUT when I’m not obsessing about the lack of time in my life or whining about how tired I am, I usually have some time to spare. That’s when I bake and make and “get my cook on”. Mmhm.
Back to the tart though. Grilled juicy peaches, sweet-herby walnuts and hunks of salty goats cheese: this is what I call heaven.

You can use my galette crust here as a base or just use your favourite recipie for an all butter pie crust. Yum. Also, be sure to pick firm peaches, you don’t want them to be all soft and mushy.

Grilled Peach + Feta tart with Honey-Thyme candied walnuts

6 firm peaches
2 tbsp butter
1/2 cup walnuts, light toasted
1 tsp fresh chopped thyme
1/2 cup or more crumbled feta/goats cheese
1 tbsp sugar
1 small all butter tart/pie crust
(Most recipes will give you three small pies, so save the rest of the dough for another day!)

For the peaches: heat the butter in a grill pan. Slice in half and pit the peaches. Press them to the hot, buttery pan, skin side up for a minute or two on high heat, till the bottoms have grill marks on them.

For the walnuts:
Heat the honey in a pan till hot. Add the walnuts and thyme till the walnuts are coated. Take off heat and allow to cool. This will take a minute or lesser don’t let the nuts burn.

Assemble. Heat the oven to 200 C. Roll out the crust and place in a greased pie tin. Poke holes in the bottom, and blind-bake till it’s halfway done.
Place the peaces, the walnuts and hunks of cheese in the crust. Sprinkle with sugar and bake for 15 minutes.
Serve warm.

(200 more days to freedom ughhhhhhh)

2 thoughts on “Grilled Peach + Feta pie with Honey-Thyme Walnuts

  1. that looks soooo good!

Leave a Reply

