Easy Soda Bread + Green Olive and Pistachio Tapenade

(Have an interesting link? A blog that I should read? Want to share something tasty that you made? Let me know below so that I can check it! I’d love to hear your thoughts!)
20130929-164613.jpg

The title should also say with grilled corn but I’ll let it go. It’s long enough already.

20130929-164556.jpg
So, I made dinner yesterday because I felt like getting in the kitchen and making something complex and tasty.
But if that scared you then I promise, THIS really isn’t complex. The complex part was where I sat at the kitchen table reading Gourmet, hoping to find inspiration.

And I did. I adapted their recipe for Irish Soda Bread, which I’ve made before bad loved. However, this time, I left out the caraway seeds and raisins and used a little cornmeal in place of 100% white flour. The result was an ibcredible, slightly sweet bread that paired perfectly with a salty, briny tapenade.

A word about the tapenade, though. I have used nuts in it but they are NOT necessary. The pistachio taste was very subtle. Honestly, it was very tasty but would have been tastier with almonds. If you can’t have nuts, leave ’em out. It’ll be just as good.

20130929-164607.jpg

SWEET SODA-BREAD:
( 2 small loaves)
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 tbsp sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dried oregano ( not necessary but adds a slight herby taste to the bread)
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 tbsp melted butter for brushing the breads.

Preheat the oven to 180 C/350 F.
Whisk together the dry ingredients. Pour in the buttermilk and knead on a lightly floured surface till a smooth dough forms. Form two rounds and place on a greased baking sheet. Using a very sharp knife, make a deep cross in the center of the breads. Brush them generously with butter and bake for 20 minutes or till golden brown.

Green Olive Tapenade:

1 cup green olives
1/2 tbsp capers
2 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp raw pistachios or toasted almonds.
1/4 cup olive oil

Pulse the first 4 ingredients together. Pour in the olive oil in a steady stream, pulsing as you pour.

TO ASSEMBLE:
Toast slices of bread. Spread with tapenade and sprinkle with grilled corn.

Leave a Reply

