Simple Banana Bread

20130922-191536.jpg

So, I last week, I broke our oven.
Hahahahaha, what? Yes. I know. Hence the lack of baked goods ( actually, hence the lack for anything in the blog)
but last Saturday,we finally got the oven fixed.

So, what had happened you ask?

I pulled the door out. Yeah, that happened? I don’t know how, it just did. One second it was fine, just cooking the stuff inside it and the next, the door was in my hand.

20130922-191515.jpg
So that was fun.
Anyway, the past week there was no banana eating action happening, so, uh we had a lot of spotty ‘naners lying around. So, I did the most logical thing ever. I made banana bread.

20130922-191528.jpg
Okay, so maybe I lied. The bananas weren’t lying around. I told everyone to stay away from them. Everytime the bananas came close to getting over ripe, someone ate them. WHAT? WHY? WHO EVEN EATS RIPE BANANAS? Okay, fine. Normal people. So anyway.
Here we are.

20130922-191522.jpg

Oh and I’m calling this simple banana bead because there are a thousand recipes for fancy, jacked up banana breads with Nutella swirls and bacon and stuff out there and this one? It doesn’t even have nuts.
So, yeah.
It’s simple and homey.
AND CRAZY TASTY!

SIMPLE BANANA BREAD:
Makes one tasty, tasty loaf.

1 3/4 cups (230 grams) all-purpose flour

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, melted and cooled

3 ripe large bananas, mashed well. I actually left one pretty chunky.

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Make it:
Preheat oven to 180 degrees and place oven rack to middle position. Butter and flour the bottom and sides of a 23 x 13 x 8 cm loaf pan.

Whisk together the dry ingredients. On the side, whisk together the wet ingredients ( the eggs, butter, vanilla and bananas) till smooth. Pour wet into dry in two batches and stir well to combine. Do not overmix and be very, very gentle with the mixing. Unless, of course you want a rock-loaf.

Pour into the baking tin and sprinkle with sugar like I did. Bake for 40-45 minutes or till the loaf is golden brown and a tester inserted in the center come out clean with a few moist crumbs attached to it. (Hahaha there I said it. I’m the bad, bad blogger. I said moist)

Eat up! Preferably with Nutella)

Leave a Reply

