Egg free chocolate cupcakes with chai spiced buttercream

20130724-193018.jpg

20130725-165838.jpg

Whew! I made it!
One week into Xaviers and I feel good.I haven’t blogged in foreverrrrr BUT I wanted to today since I’m home from college.
So I made you cupcakes

Not just any cupcakes though. These are eggless… And can easily be vegan. Just use soy milk!
20130724-193123.jpg

These are 100% perfect and the buttercream? Oh, the buttercream. It’s gently spiced with chai spices and its just slightly spicy and plenty sweet and it’s pairs so so well with the chocolate.

Just one thing though. DO NOT USE DUTCH PROCESS COCOA HERE. Trust me I did that and my cupcakes turned into volcanoes.

Seriously, I mean their tops just EXPLODED and they started bubbling and frothing like CRAZY.But at least they were tasty volcanoes 🙂

Anyway here’s the recipe. I hope you like em as much as I do.

Eggless Chocolate cupcakes
From Vegan Cupcakes take over the world.

1 cup milk ( I used regular 2% but soy should work well here as that’s what the recipe recommends)

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

First, combine the milk and vinegar and set aside for 5 mins. Now read the rest of the recipe.*
If you have ready made buttermilk you can use that here instead of curdling the milk. Substitute the vinegar with lemon juice.

1 cup all purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup sugar
1 Tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup canola or other flavourless oil
1/2 Tsp salt
1/2 tsp soda
3/4 Tsp baking powder

Preheat the oven to 150 C.

Whisk together the dry ingredients ( except sugar) in a medium bowl. In another bowl, beat the buttermilk,
Sugar, oil and vanilla together.now add wet to dry and stir to combine. DO NOT BEAT.

Pour into 12 greased cupcake moulds and bake at 150 for 25 mins or till they spring back lightly when touched.
Let cool completely before icing.
20130725-165820.jpg

20130724-193139.jpg

Chai Buttercream Frosting

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or non-dairy equivalent
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp chai powder/ loose tea leaves
3-4 Tbsp boiling hot water
3 cups sugar ( I used four but I found it to be too sweet)
Pinch each ground cinnamon and ginger

Combine the tea leaves and water together. Let it rest for 3-5 mins.Meanwhile, best the butter and sugar together till halfway creamy, now beat in the vanilla and steeped tea leaves.( MAKE SURE THAT NO PART OF THE TEA LEAVES GETS IN. YOU ONLY WANT THE LIQUID)

Beat till creamy and frost cupcakes once cooled.

Makes 12

And I’m out.

20130724-190849.jpg

Leave a Reply

