Bread #2: Baguettes at Home!

IMG_1501kjjh
Yay!I’m so happy that you guys are as excited about bread-week as I am!
So, I was planning on posting Ciabatta today (which I had success with!) but it’s a pretty long process and I thought doing baguettes first would make sense!

PicMonkey Collage
The recipe is from here and the instructions are super clear and really easy to follow!But I feel like I should give my own instructions so that I can guide you with the changes that I made instead of just randomly linking the recipe and then adding my variations.
I didn’t have bread flour nor do I have a bread machine and i’m guessing that a lot of you don’t either.
So don’t worry because I hand-kneaded the dough and used ap flour and the baguettes turned out GREAT! Very restaurant restraunt quality!
So, without further ado, here we go:
FAST FRENCH BAGUETTES:
1 cup water

3 1/2 cups all-purpose or bread flour, plus more as needed

2 teaspoons salt

2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast(I used this) or 1 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast

In a large bowl , whisk yeast into 1 cup water and let sit 5 minutes.DONT TOUCH IT. you can give it a stir but that’s it.Add 3 cups flour and salt and mix, using paddle attachment in the bowl of an electric mixer, until just combined.Now you can either switch to the dough hook or knead by hand. Knead on medium speed for about 5 minutes (10 minutes if kneading by hand), until the dough is smooth and elastic.Shape it into a ball and palce in a lighly greased bowl , covered with cling film , in a warm place till dough has doubled in size.
Punch down risen dough gently and split into two. Roll each piece into a foot-long rope and place side by side, about 3-4 inches apart, on a lightly greased + floured baking sheet or a tray lined with lightly floured parchment paper. Cover with lightly greased plastic wrap and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
Once oven is preheated and dough has risen slightly (about 30 minutes), remove plastic wrap and using a very sharp knife make diagonal cutson the baguettes(not too deep! just barely). Place baguettes in oven, reduce heat to 375 degrees F and bake until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven, sprinkle with cold water and allow to cool on cooling rack completely before slicing.

Yay! Now slice and enjoy with butter + jam!

Tommorow, we’ll take the ciabatta! and then….some whole-wheat goodies are coming our way!
Enjoy and let me know what you think!

3 thoughts on “Bread #2: Baguettes at Home!

  1. your bread looks just lovely…i am a new bread maker myself..so i will have to give this recipe a try…lovely post..sarah

  2. Mmm, those look great!

Leave a Reply

