Bread Baking!(YOU can do this!)

IMG_1506jk
Hey there!
I’m really awkward at introducing stuff so let’s get right to it!
Over the next one week we’ll be dealing with bread!Quick breads and yeast breads BOTH. Just a whole lotta bread.
I figured baking bread is the only way to get better at it(who woulda thought?) so doing this will be a great way for me to expand my horizons and get into more bread baking.Because honestly, I think I’m going through a lot of sugar here.
IMG_1480dfd

IMG_1505[1]heh heh heh.
Today however, we’re putting TWO of my favourite things into one loaf(<—heh heh heh): sugar + bread!
this recipe will make only two small loaves.
So let's get to it!

Chocolate chunk bread:
inspired by this
Ingredients:

bread –
◾1.5 cups all-purpose flour+ extra for kneading
◾1 T sugar + a pinch, divided
◾ pinch salt
◾1.25 tsp active dry yeast
◾1/2 cup warm water
◾1 T oil
◾1 egg
◾1/3 cup chocolate, roughly chopped

egg wash –
◾1 egg +1 t water beaten together

Directions:
1.Whisk together flour, a tablespoon sugar, and salt. In a cup whisk a pinch of sugar, yeast, and warm water together. Set aside for 5 minutes or until foamy.Now, Whisk in oil and eggs. Add wet to dry. stir till just combined. Add in enough flour to form a soft dough.
2.Turn dough onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic (about 6-8 minutes).
3.Now fold in the chopped chocolate and form a ball. Place it in a small greased bowl nd let rest for 20-30 mins.
4.Punch dough down. Turn onto a lightly floured surface.Form a ball and cover will clingfilm. Let rise until doubled, about 20 minutes.
5.Preheat the oven to 350 F/150 C. Brush loaf with egg wash and bake in heated oven for 15 minutes or till slightly domed and a light brown.

So there it is! Our first bread!
IMPORTANT!!
So, what would you like to see next? I’ve already blanned on covering the baguette and a basic sandwich bread. Any breads in particular? Or would you like to see step by step instructions? I’m working a ciabatta next and will update my instagram account with progress!Here’s the link to follow me. I’ll def. follow you back

4 thoughts on “Bread Baking!(YOU can do this!)

  1. Why oh why do you have to do this to me every day? It seems that each time you post a recipe, I feel the need to go out, buy the ingredients and make it! Hehe.

    A ciabatta is definitely an awesome idea!

    I’m so glad you’re doing breads for a while; I was thinking of doing mine myself because I realized that store bought breads had a lot of salt in them (as in, 1 slice exceeds my son’s daily salt intake – not that he eats a whole slice, but still) and now that Little Dude has started solids, I want him to be able to eat well without too much salt.

    • That’s great! The next few days you’ll just need some flour, yeast, water and patience! I’m doing these posts because if everyone can bake some stellar bread if a 16 yr old can!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. I love baking bread! I make a multi-grain loaf pretty regularly to feed the fam. I’ll snag a link to the recipe in case you feel like trying it 🙂

Leave a Reply

