Easy 15 minute Cherry Crumbles

It’s ch-eeeerrrryyyy season! At least here it is. I wait all year long for this time of the year, when all my favourite fruits are in season: peaches, cherries and litchis.
Yay!
IMG_1405

So, a word about crumbles : I’m scared to death of making them. Everytime I do a streusel topping on muffins or something, I BURN it. It’s horrible,really. I mean, I keep waiting for the top to turn golden brown and when it does I poke a toothpick through the center of the muffins and- it’s uncooked.
And guess what happens by the time they finally cook? The top burns.
I cry.IMG_1407
But with this recipe it’s not like that! It’s got no batter on the bottom, just fruit.SO once the top is golden brown, GET IT OUT OF THE OVEN.
IMG_1411

CHERRY CRUMBLE:
serves 2-3 generously

1/4 cup flour
1/2 cup oats(quick will do as will old-fashioned but no instant)
1/2 cup brown or raw sugar
2 tbsp. cold butter
pinch salt, omit if using salted butter

2 cups pitted sliced cherries
2 tbsp. white sugar(see note)
1 tsp lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 150 C.
Toss together the flour, oats, salt and sugar. Work in the butter till a crumbly texture is reached. it should be well combined.

Now mix together the cherries, lemon juice and sugar.Add this to a couple of ramekins or a larger deeper oven-safe bowl like I did. Add streusel on top.BE GENEROUS, I’M WATCHING YOU.
Bake for 8 mins or till golden brown. WATCH IT! serve warm with vanilla ice-cream.

Note: My cherries weren’t particularly flavourful.If that’s the chase with you, then soak the cherries in 1/4 cup of cherry liquer for half an hour or so with 2-3 tbsp of caster sugar. if they are tart, so the same but omit the liquer and add a little more sugar. You can also try this if you think the crumble needs a little boost.

4 thoughts on “Easy 15 minute Cherry Crumbles

  1. I LOVE cherries. Definitely giving this a try once they come out over here!

  2. This looks amazing!

  3. Ooh, I love cherries! Will have to try this! They’ve been on sale here lately in our stores. Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

