Chocolate Whoopie-Pies with Coffee Cream Filling

Hey there!
I know I took a 2 month plus hiatus from blogging and I probably shouldn’t have. I did however use that time well because during the break that I took I travelled (to Istanbul!),learnt a LOT more about cooking and photography. Hopefully my pictures will be looking better now!

Anyway, yesterday, my grandparents celebrated their wedding anniversary. As usual, I was on dessert-duty. Now usually it’s cupcakes or a cake that I bake but this time, I wanted to do something different.
I have been wanting to try out whoopee pies from the One-Girl Bakery cookbook (which I spend a lot of time looking at!) and this seemed like the perfect time to try it out.
IMG_0987
I didn’t follow the recipe to a T but it turned out wonderfully. The original recipe pairs the chocolate whoopee-pies with a peppermint filling but I decided against it because:
1. most peppermint extracts that I’ve tried have a room-freshener minty taste which I did not want.
2. I didn’t have any peppermint extract anyway.

So I based the coffee filling on the mocha buttercream recipe in the same cookbook and loved how it turned out!The fluffy chocolate rounds pairs perfectly with the mocha filling. It was a big hit!
IMG_0986

So here’s the recipe anyway,
Chocolate whoopee Pies with Coffee cream filling:
Adapted from <a href="http://http://www.amazon.com/One-Girl-Cookies-Cupcakes-Brooklyns/dp/0307720489&quot; title="One Girl Cookies" target="_blank"k
Makes 24-28 whoopie pies:
2 Cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1/2 cup packed whole-milk yogurt
1/2 cup canola or other light tasting vegetable oil
3 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

1. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, soda and salt.
2.In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat the granulated sugar,brown sugar,yogurt, eggs and oil with vanilla for 2-3 minutes or till fully combined.Now with the mixer on low speed fold in the dry mixture in 3 batches mixing well on each addition till just combined. Do not over mix.
3.Cover with cling film and put in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
4.Preheat the oven to 150 C (350 f).
5.Using a pastry bag with a plain tip pipe 2 inch diameter circles leaving 1.5 inches between pies. Bake for 9 minutes or till pies bounce back.
6.If you have to wait between batches, put the batter in the fridge.
7.Allow pies to cool and then peel off. Pipe filling between pies and sandwhich together.

Mocha Cream filling:
1.5 sticks butter( I used salted) at room temperature
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp instant ground coffee
1/4 cup strong coffee
1-2 tbsp. milk
2.5 cups powdered sugar

Whisk together the butter, coffee powder, coffee and vanilla till combined.Now add the sugar and milk and whish again till creamy.Put into a pastry bag with plain tip( any will do actually) and pipe blobs onto the center of one pie then top with the other half.
Store in the fridge till ready to serve.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Whoopie-Pies with Coffee Cream Filling

  1. Hey!
    It looks lovely!
    On an unrelated note, you were in Istanbul?! That is so cool.

Leave a Reply

