Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie dough Balls

Calling all cookie monsters!

Image

Healthy cookie dough that tastes like the real deal but is:

1.Lower in sugar

2.High in healthy fats and protein

3.Refined flour free!

4.Whole grain!

all the excuses you needed for eating ten one.

What you need for success..(note that the cashews are unpictured 😦 sorry )

Image

This recipie is inspired by one of my favourite food blogs,oh she glows, where i always find healthy recipies that don’t skimp on flavour!It was inspired by her cookie dough larabar recipie but i wasn’t intrested in making energy bars.My perfect snack requirement was:

1.Made without dates….while i love dates, i dont always have them on hand…i wanted this recipie to use storecupboard ingredients.Also,dates wouldnt create a cookie dough flavour.

2.I wanted them to be energy bites….so that they would serve as a small snack that you could grab and go or toss in lunchboxes for a lighter treat.Bars tend to be too big to eat at once.

Somehow, i threw together some ingredients in the blender and these cookie dough balls were born.

Here’s the recipie!:

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough snack balls ( date-free and can be gluten free and vegan if ingredients are checked)

Makes 7-12 balls.

1/2 cup raw unsalted cashews

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup whole wheat or other flour

1/2 tsp salt(don’t omit! it enhances the flavour!)

2-4 tbsp milk as needed to moisten the ‘dough’

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3 heaping tbsp brown sugar

1/4 cup packed dark chocolate chips

Method:

In a food processor, blend together the cashews and oats till a crumbly flour forms.Now add in the ww flour,sugar,vanilla,2 tbsp milk and salt and process again.

Image

A dough should start to form.If it doesn’t it’s still too dry and you need to add more milk.Finally add the chocolate chips and pulse until just combined or you can mix them in by hand like i did.

Don’t forget to lick the blades! I know i did!

WHAT TO DO WITH THEM:
Eat them raw.

Mix them into oatmeal for cookie dough oatmeal!

Mix them into vanilla ice cream for cookie dough ice cream or into banana softserve.

Pulse a few with some milk,a banana and vanilla for a cookie dough milkshake!

The possibilities are endless!

I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as i did.

6 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie dough Balls

  1. These look so delicious! I love recipes like this because I love cookie dough so much and if I don’t get my fix, I always end up eating half the dough when I am actually trying to make cookies!!

  2. Sounds good! I want some when Im back, okay? πŸ˜€

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what
    all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% positive.

    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly
    appreciated. Thanks

    • Hi!
      Firstly, using a platform like blogspot or wordpress (which is the one I use), is free, meaning that we don’t have to pay to use this space on the internet. As for the content on the blog, I take my own pictures and edit them, so there is that minimal cost of the camera but apart from that, it’s hot too expensive. I would say, reading blogs that inspire you to create content that you think is great is a good way to start. All you have to do now is think of a name, pick a platform (I personally like wordpress better) and start creating! It’s quite a bit of work, but it’s a wonderful experience. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

